

16 September 2024

MEDIA RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Poh Li San re-elected unopposed as President of Singapore Table Tennis Association



The Singapore Table Tennis Association (STTA) is pleased to announce the re-election of Ms. Poh Li San as President for a second term unopposed following the association's Annual General Meeting held earlier today at the Singapore Sports Auditorium.

The newly elected STTA Management Committee (MC) for 2024 to 2026 saw 9 members returning unopposed, along with 5 new members – Bay Swee Huat, PBM, Tan Yan Boon, PBM, Liang Fook Sang, Eva Grace Ong and former national player, Pearlyn Koh.



Stepping down from the positions were former vice-president Teo Nam Meng, honorary treasurer Jeffrey Lee, and members Kelvin Tan, Richard Pang and Joseph Lau, PBS, BBM.

Poh, who is also a Member of Parliament (MP) for Sembawang GRC, paid tribute to the outgoing committee members and welcomed the new faces. She said, "I would like to thank the contributions of our outgoing management committee members, whose valuable contributions to the table tennis fraternity will always be appreciated. I would also like to welcome to the family our five newly elected Management Committee members. I look forward to working together with them to further improve the table tennis ecosystem.

With Eva and Pearlyn joining the Management Committee, there are now three women among the 14 members. Poh aims to enhance gender diversity and hopes that more women will gradually take on roles in the STTA Management Committee over time.

During her first term leading the association as President, Poh's achievements included overseeing the qualification of home-grown players Izaac Quek and Zhou Jingyi, as well as Zeng Jian for the Paris 2024 Olympics, marking a significant milestone for Singapore's table tennis community. Also, Singapore table tennis reclaimed top spot in Southeast Asia at the 2023 SEA Games in Cambodia, with 4 golds, 2 silvers and 3 bronzes.

Additionally, she successfully managed the relocation of the STTA headquarters of 38 years at Toa Payoh to its current temporary home at OCBC Arena, to make way for the upcoming Toa Payoh Integrated Development (TPID).

Under Poh's leadership, the STTA has seen significant advancements in promoting table tennis at both grassroots and elite levels. Her re-election reflects the confidence and support of the association's members in her ability to steer the sport towards greater heights.

"I am deeply honored and grateful for the continued trust and support from the STTA community," added Poh. "Our achievements over the past term have been a collective effort, and I am excited to build on this foundation. Moving forward, we will continue to focus on nurturing young talents, enhancing our competitive edge, and fostering a strong sense of community among players and supporters."

The STTA is confident that with Ms. Poh at the helm, the association will continue to thrive and achieve its goals of raising the profile of table tennis in Singapore and supporting our athletes in their pursuit of excellence.



ANNEX A

Singapore Table Tennis Association Management Committee for 2024 to 2026

No	Title of Office	Name	Name (Chinese)	Age
1	President	Poh Li San	傅丽珊	49
2	MC Member	Soon Min Sin, PBM	孙敏慎	65
3	MC Member	Wong Yuan Jun, Eldwin, PBM	王垣寯	46
4	MC Member	Kan Yaw Kiong@Ernest, JP, BBM	簡耀强	67
5	MC Member	Ho Kok Khun, PBM	何国权	55
6	MC Member	Goh Miao Guang	吴妙光	41
7	MC Member	Toh Ern Chong	卓恩忠	44
8	MC Member	Tang Mun Fai	邓文辉	53
9	MC Member	Toh Hock Pang, Alvin	卓福邦	51
10	MC Member	Bay Swee Huat, PBM	马瑞发	61
11	MC Member	Tan Yan Boon, PBM	陈远文	54
12	MC Member	Koh Kai Xin, Pearlyn	许凯欣	23
13	MC Member	Eva Grace L Ong	-	64
14	MC Member	Liang Fook Sang	梁福生	56



STTA Supporters/Donors:







